Join CBMTG | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
Clinical Trials Network
General Information

Blood and marrow transplantation (BMT) is playing an increasing role in the management of patients with otherwise fatal diseases of the hematopoietic and immune system, and solid tumours. Currently, over 1200 transplants are performed annually by 23 Canadian programs, with the number of transplants and transplant centres growing every year. New technologies and management strategies for improving the success of BMT are emerging rapidly from academic centres and industry; their expeditious testing, timely dissemination of results and subsequent implementation are mandatory to ensure the best care and risk management for Canadians in need of a transplant.

While Canada's healthcare system offers a uniquely favourable environment for testing new therapies, relatively few large and decisive Canadian trials have been completed. Large-scale studies demand resources and patient participants very often beyond that which is available in a single Canadian centre. A network of cooperating centres would allow Canadians to conduct large and decisive studies in a timely manner. To this end, the CBMTG has established the Clinical Trials Network (CBMTG-CTN).

About Us

The mission of the CBMTG-CTN is to improve the safety, availability and efficacy of hematopoietic stem cell transplantation for adults and children in Canada and to perform clinical research trials that will define optimal hematopoietic stem cell transplantation for adults and children. We strive to conduct laboratory research that will translate into more effective treatments with reduced short, and long-term side effects, and to build partnerships that will help fulfill the mission of the Canadian Blood and Marrow Transplant Group and improve the health of adults and children throughout the world.

Chaired by Dr. Donna Wall, the CBMTG-CTN governs the overall activities of the committee, including reviewing and approving the research agenda, formulating and monitoring policies and procedures, guiding research activities and overseeing communications within the CBMTG CTN and with the greater scientific community and public. Research concept proposals are solicited, developed and managed by the CBMTG CTN.

Membership List

Chair: Dr. Donna Wall

Members: Dr. Harry Atkins, Dr. Karen Ballen, Dr. Christopher Bredeson, Dr. Rena Buckstein, Dr. Guy Cantin, Dr. Martin Champagne, Dr. Steven Couban, Dr. Jeffrey Davis, Tammy Degelder, Dr. John Doyle, Dr. Michael Duval, Dr. Ronan Foley, Dr. Christian Fibich, Dr. Ahmed Galal, Dr. Vikas Gupta, Dr. Wanda Hasagawa, Dr. Kang Howson-Jan, Dr. Lothar Heubsch, Dr. Jeff Lipton, Dr. Pedro Lopez, Holly Kerr, Dr. Thomas Kiss, Dr. John Kuruvilla, Dr. David Mitchell, Dr. Jean Roy, Dr. James Russell, Dr. Brenda Sabo, Dr. Marlis Schroeder, Dr. Kirk Schultz, Dr. Matthew Seftel, Dr. Cindy Toze, Dr. Michael Voralia, Dr. Irwin Walker.

This website is sponsored by an unrestricted educational grant from:

Follow CBMTG